Doc Severinsen - CD Collection

$ 24.99
was $ 39.96

This product has SOLD OUT

See more: CDs
Doc Severinsen - CD Collection

Available for a limited time add these 4 CDs from legendary trumpet player and Tonight Show band leader Doc Severinsen to your collection. Including the Grammy nominated "Once More… With Feeling!" on Amherst.

Once More… with Feeling! -
This is the most highly recommended of the Tonight Show Band's three Amherst CDs. The repertoire is fresher than the songs featured on the two earlier releases and, in addition to the usual swing-era standards, such tunes as Tommy Newsom's "Three Shades of Blue" and Stevie Wonder's "Isn't She Lovely" are included. Guest appearances by trumpeter Wynton Marsalis ("Avalon") and singer Tony Bennett ("I Can't Get Started") add some variety, the arrangements (mostly by the innovative Bill Holman and Tommy Newsom) are generally colorful, and the band (featuring such soloists as trumpeters Doc Severinsen, Snooky Young, and Conte Candoli; tenor saxophonist Pete Christlieb; and pianist Ross Tompkins) sounds in prime form.

Track Listing:
1. Honeysuckle Rose
2. Poor Butterfly
3. Body & Soul
4. Just Friends
5. I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart
6. Three Shades Of Blue
7. St. Louis Blues
8. I Can't Get Started
9. Avalon
10. My Old Flame
11. Things Ain't What They Used To Be
12. What Is This Thing Called Love
13. Isn't She Lovely
14. Bugle Call Rag

Facets -
For this effort, trumpeter Doc Severinsen, in one of his rare recordings away from a big band format, teams up with the reeds of Ernie Watts, guitarist Lee Ritenour, a variety of studio musicians and a large string orchestra to perform crossover-oriented music. With arrangements contributed by producer Jeff Tyzik and Allen Vizzutti, even such songs as "My Funny Valentine," "Take The 'A' Train" and "Maiden Voyage" are transformed into rather routine, funky dance music.

Track Listing:
1. Night Train
2. City Lights
3. My Funny Valentine
4. Take the A Train
5. Siciliano
6. Crystal Garden
7. Maiden Voyage
8. Stompin' at the Savoy

El Ritmo De La Vida -
Gorgeous songs with a latin and European flavor from the heart of San Miguel de Allende, Gto., Mexico. This is a great combination of Reinhardt, Paco de Lucia, Stephan Grapelli and all the tradicion of Doc Severinsen's sound...it's a great album!!!

Track Listing:
1. El Farol
2. Libertango
3. Swing Gitane
4. El Huapango De Moncayo
5. Lagrima Del Toro
6. Camino Del Pan Bendito
7. Troumbland Bolero
8. Irene&diego
9. Pent Up House
10. La Espiga

en mi corazón -
A richly flavored style of music that is classical Spanish with a jazz flair. Gorgeous ballads, both Latino and American, plus some great movie music and the popular gypsy jazz, a la Django Reinhardt.

Track Listing:

1. Sweet Georgia Brown
2. Gabriel's Oboe
3. La Muerte Del Angel
4. En Mi Corazon
5. Maria Cervantes
6. Nuages
7. Passion
8. No Moon At All
9. Almendra
10. Estrellita
11. Paracho
12. Andreina
13. Un Mundo Raro

Scroll to top